A listed Renaissance building with original ceiling joists and an impressive facade. The house at Markt 25 was built in 1540, and for many centuries it was used as a residential and shop building by influential citizens of Wittenberg. Traces of the building's eventful history could still be seen. Tiles bear witness to its former life as a grocery store. The stairs to the basement lead directly to the safe: The building was also a bank once.
In 2013 the company Stickstoffwerke Piesteritz GmbH purchased this architectural jewel, refurbished it painstakingly in cooperation with the monument conservation authorities and created a link to the building next door. The goal was to create a modern science centre in these venerable historic walls – a contrast that was deliberately chosen. The two year refurbishment process was a major effort which posed a number of special challenges.
The buildings next to the Cranach building are now resplendent in their fresh historical appearance and with a new function. On about 1,000 square metres of floor space they now contain the futurea exhibition experience.